Sounds. Anton BATAGOV
# Home #
 

 

Anton Batagov

The Battell
Music of William Byrd and Johann Pachelbel

© 2014 Fancymusic

William Byrd (1540 – 1623)

The Battell (1-10)
1 The souldiers sommons
2 The marche of footemen
3 The marche of horsmen
4 The trumpetts
5 The Irishe marche
6 The bagpipe and the drone
7 The flute and the droome
8 The marche to the fighte
9 The retreat
10 The galliarde for the victorie

11 Will yow walke the woods soe wylde

Johann Pachelbel (1653 – 1706)

12 Chaconne in F minor
13 Canon in D major

Total time 57:32

Recording, editing, mixing, mastering: June - August 2012, New York
Recorded on 1959 Steinway B grand piano
Produced by AB
Cover photo by AB
Booklet photo: Edward Tikhonov
Executive producer: Sergey Krasin

I was about to begin this text with something like this: "True minimalists lived in the 16 th – 17 th centuries." And then I thought you might say: "Hmm, there he goes again talking about that minimalism." And it’s true: the word is so unfit. Human language is very limited, and every time we attempt to express something important we discover that our language simply doesn't work.

How can we explain what this music sounds like?

How can we explain that it is more contemporary than contemporary music?

How can we explain that in the sounds written 300 – 400 years ago one can hear the whole volume of all European music of several centuries, as well as everything we now call ethnic music, from bagpipes and Celtic fiddles to Indian sitars?

A refined scent of jazz, and a punk band playing in a club around the corner.

A dramatism stronger than Beethoven's, and the larger-than-life boundless space of a rock ballad.

As for the compositional technique, it is pretty simple. Composers of that time used to write the same things over and over again: exercises of sorts, endless variations on a chord sequence. Not only does this never get boring, but the longer you listen, the less you want it to stop. Each variation opens a door in front of you, and you walk through this endless enfilade and realize that it is none other but a way home.

And this, you could say, is minimalism.

All compositions included in this album were written certainly not for piano. The works of William Byrd are for the virginal (a British modification of the harpsichord). The works of Johann Pachelbel are for organ (Chaconne), and for strings (Canon). I play them on a modern piano, and I treat the scores with a lot of freedom. I don't change even a single note but for some reason it sounds as if it was written this morning.

The recording was made on a 1959 Steinway B. Each composition has its own sonic atmosphere. The way this piano responds to different types of touch and different playing styles is amazing. I emphasized all the distinctions through studio processing. It would make no sense to describe them with words. Just listen.

 

AB, English translation edited by Cazimir Liske

__________________________________________________________________________________

Buy CD

iTunes

Звуки. Антон Батагов  

 

© 2014 Fancymusic

АНТОН БАТАГОВ
The Battell
музыка Уильяма Берда и Иоганна Пахельбеля

Уильям Берд (1540 – 1623)

Битва (1 - 10)

1. Войсковой сбор
2. Марш пехоты
3. Марш конницы
4. Трубы
5. Ирландский марш
6. Волынка
7. Флейта и барабан
8. Марш во время боя
9. Отступление
10. Гальярда в честь победы

11 Пойдем гулять в дремучий лес?

Иоганн Пахельбель (1653 – 1706)

12 Чакона фа минор
13 Канон ре мажор

Общее время 57:32

Запись, редакция, сведение, мастеринг: июнь - август 2012, Нью-Йорк
Записано на рояле Steinway B 1959 года
Продюсер: АБ
Фото на обложке: АБ
Фото в буклете: Эдвард Тихонов
Исполнительный продюсер: Сергей Красин

 


Я хотел начать этот текст примерно так: "Настоящие минималисты жили в XVI – XVII веке". А потом представил себе, как вы поморщитесь и скажете: "Ну вот, опять он про свой минимализм". И правда, уж очень это слово неподходящее. Впрочем, человеческий язык вообще весьма условен, и каждый раз, когда хочется выразить что-то важное, выясняется, что он для этого просто не приспособлен.

Как объяснить, на что похожа эта музыка?Как объяснить, что она современнее, чем всё современное?

Как объяснить, что в нотах, написанных 300 – 400 лет назад, каким-то образом слышна не только вся вертикаль европейской музыки нескольких столетий, но и всё то, что мы сейчас называем этникой, от волынок и кельтских скрипок до индийских ситаров?

Изысканный джазовый аромат и концерт панк-группы в клубе за углом.

Драматизм посильнее Бетховена и бескрайний простор рок-баллады, larger than life.

Ну а с точки зрения принципа композиции всё просто. Композиторы тех времен всегда писали примерно одно и то же: что-то типа упражнений, бесконечные вариации на несколько аккордов. И это не только не скучно, а наоборот, чем дальше слушаешь, тем меньше хочется, чтобы это закончилось. Каждая вариация как будто открывает дверь куда-то дальше, и еще дальше, и еще, и ты идешь по этой бесконечной анфиладе и понимаешь, что это не что иное, как дорога домой.

Вот вам и минимализм, собственно.

Всё, что вошло в этот альбом, было написано, разумеется, не для рояля. Сочинения Бёрда – для вирджинала (это английская разновидность клавесина); Пахельбеля – для органа (Чакона) и струнных (Канон). Я играю на современном рояле. Да и вообще обращаюсь с текстом очень свободно. Я не меняю там ни одной ноты, но почему-то всё это звучит как музыка, написанная сегодня утром.

Запись сделана на рояле Steinway B 1959 года. У каждого сочинения своя звуковая атмосфера. Этот инструмент удивительно чутко отзывается на разные виды прикосновения и разный стиль игры. Работая в студии над записью, я постарался сделать все различия еще более рельефными. Не буду пытаться найти слова для их описания. Вы всё услышите.

АБ

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

купить CD

iTunes